Hugo Awards

The Hugo Award® is the leading award for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy. The Hugos were first presented in 1953 and have been awarded every year since 1955 by the members of the World Science Fiction Society (Worldcon members) at the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon).

Voting for the Hugo Awards takes place in two stages. The first stage, nomination, is open to anyone who has a Supporting or Attending membership in the previous or current Worldcon as of January 31, 2022. For Chicon 8, this means members of DisCon III (the 2021 Worldcon) and Chicon 8 itself. During this stage, members will be able to nominate any eligible work or person. Nominations will open soon. The nomination stage will run through March 15, 2022.

The second stage of voting is the final ballot. This stage will be open only to Chicon 8 members. In the final ballot, members choose between the six finalists in each category.

The complete list of Hugo Award winners, as well as the current rules for the Hugo Awards, can be found at the Official Hugo Award website.

Chicon III Hugo, 1963

Chicon IV Hugo, 1982

Chicon V Hugo, 1991

Chicon 2000 Hugo
designed by Johnna Klukas

Chicon 7 Hugo
designed by Deb Kosiba

Chicon 8 Hugo
designed by ???