Hugo Awards

Hugo Award Logo
Hugo Award Logo

Voting for the 2022 Hugo Awards, the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer is CLOSED. Access to the voter’s packet is also closed.

The winners of the 2022 Hugo Awards, the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer will be announced at the Hugo Award Ceremony at Chicon 8 on Sunday, September 4, 2022 at 8:00p.m. CDT (UTC-5). The ceremony will be hosted by Toastmasters Charlie Jane Anders and Annalee Newitz in front of a live audience. The full ceremony will also be streamed live on the internet. The results will be posted to this page after the conclusion of the ceremony.

2022 Award Winners

2235 valid final ballots (2230 electronic and 5 paper) were received and counted from the members of Chicon 8. The winners are:

Best Novel

A Desolation Called Peace, by Arkady Martine (Tor)

Best Novella

A Psalm for the Wild-Built, by Becky Chambers (Tordotcom)

Best Novelette

“Bots of the Lost Ark”, by Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld, Jun 2021)

Best Short Story

“Where Oaken Hearts Do Gather”, by Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny Magazine, Mar/Apr 2021)

Best Series

Wayward Children, by Seanan McGuire (Tordotcom)

Best Graphic Story or Comic

Far Sector, written by N.K. Jemisin, art by Jamal Campbell (DC)

Best Related Work

Never Say You Can’t Survive, by Charlie Jane Anders (Tordotcom)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Dune, screenplay by Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, and Eric Roth; directed by Denis Villeneuve; based on the novel Dune by Frank Herbert (Warner Bros / Legendary Entertainment)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

The Expanse: Nemesis Games, written by Daniel Abraham, Ty Franck, and Naren Shankar; directed by Breck Eisner (Amazon Studios)

Best Editor, Short Form

Neil Clarke

Best Editor, Long Form

Ruoxi Chen

Best Professional Artist

Rovina Cai

Best Semiprozine

Uncanny Magazine, publishers and editors-in-chief Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas; managing/poetry editor Chimedum Ohaegbu; nonfiction editor Elsa Sjunneson; podcast producers Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky

Best Fanzine

Small Gods, Lee Moyer (Icon) and Seanan McGuire (Story)

Best Fancast

Our Opinions Are Correct, presented by Annalee Newitz and Charlie Jane Anders, produced by Veronica Simonetti

Best Fan Writer

Cora Buhlert

Best Fan Artist

Lee Moyer

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book

The Last Graduate, by Naomi Novik (Del Rey Books)

Astounding Award for Best New Writer

Shelley Parker-Chan

Detailed Statistics

Detailed statistics for the nominating and final ballots are available in this PDF.

About the Hugo Awards

The Hugo Award® is the leading award for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy. The Hugos were first presented in 1953 and have been awarded every year since 1955 by the members of the World Science Fiction Society (Worldcon members) at the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon). The complete list of Hugo Award winners can be found at the official Hugo Award website. The current rules for the Hugo Awards are contained in Article 3 of the WSFS Constitution.

Voting for the Hugo Awards takes place in two stages. The first stage, nomination, was open to anyone who had a Supporting or Attending membership in the previous or current Worldcon as of January 31, 2022. For Chicon 8, this meant members of DisCon III (the 2021 Worldcon) and Chicon 8 itself. During this stage, members were able to nominate any eligible work or person.

The second stage of voting was the final ballot. This stage was open only to Chicon 8 members (including those who joined after January 31, 2022). In the final ballot, members choose between the finalists in each category.

If you have any questions about the Hugo Awards process, please contact Hugo Help.

The base designer for the 2022 Hugo Award is Brian Keith Ellison. The designer of the 2022 Lodestar Award is Sara Felix.

2022 Hugo Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2022 Hugo Awards, the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult book, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer were announced on April 7, 2022.

1368 valid nominating ballots were received and counted from the members of the 2021 and 2022 World Science Fiction Conventions.

The winners of the awards will be announced at the Hugo Awards Ceremony, starting at 8:00 p.m. on the evening of Sunday, September 4.

The full list of finalists can be found here.

The Chicon 8 Committee has irrevocably delegated all Hugo Administration authority to a subcommittee. Therefore, Kat Jones, Jesi Lipp, Brian Nisbet, and Nicholas Whyte are ineligible for 2022 Hugo Awards.

“World Science Fiction Society”, “WSFS”, “World Science Fiction Convention”, “Worldcon” “NASFIC”, “Hugo Award”, the Hugo Award logo, and the distinctive design of the Hugo Award rocket are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. ©2022 “Chicago in 2022 Worldcon” (501(c)3) not-for-profit corporation d/b/a Chicon 8.