Charles de Lint

Charles de Lint

Charles de Lint is a full-time writer and musician who makes his home in Ottawa, Canada. The author of more than seventy adult, young adult, and children’s books, he has won the World Fantasy, Aurora, Sunburst, and White Pine awards, among others. Modern Library’s Top 100 Books of the 20th Century poll, voted on by readers, put eight of de Lint’s books among the top 100. De Lint is also a poet, artist, songwriter, performer and folklorist, and he writes a monthly book-review column for The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction.

Charles de Lint’s website
Charles de Lint on Fancyclopedia

Charles de Lint library
Photo by Maryann Harris

Chapter two from The Wind in His Heart, Charles de Lint’s 2017 novel, graciously offered to our members. Click the cover to dive into Steve Cole’s adventures.

The Wind In His Heart
The Wind in His Heart

Charles de Lint Bibliography

To fully understand why Charles de Lint is a Guest of Honor at Chicon 8, below is a bibliography of his novels and collections. In addition to these works, he has published numerous short stories and chapbooks, many through Triskell Press, his publishing company. Those stories and chapbooks can be found in the various collections listed.

De Grijze Roos, Exa, 1983 (Collection, mostly in Flemish)
The Riddle of the Wren, Ace Books, 1984
Moonheart: A Romance, Ace Books, 1984
Mulengro: A Romany Tale, Ace Books, 1985
The Harp of the Grey Rose, Donning/Starblaze, 1985
Yarrow: An Autumn Tale, Ace Books, 1986
Jack, the Giant-Killer, Ace Books, 1987 (in Jack of Kinrowan: A Novel of Urban Faerie)
Wolf Moon, Signet, 1988
Greenmantle, Ace Books, 1988
Philip José Farmer’s The Dungeon, Volume 3: The Valley of Thunder, Bantam Spectra, 1989
Svaha, Ace Books, 1989
Philip José Farmer’s The Dungeon, Volume 5: The Hidden City, Bantam Spectra, 1990
Ghostwood, Axolotl Press, 1990 (in Spiritwalk)
Drink Down the Moon, Ace Books, 1990 (in Jack of Kinrowan: A Novel of Urban Faerie)
The Dreaming Place, Atheneum, 1990
Angel of Darkness, Jove Books, 1990 (as by Samuel M. Key)
The Little Country, William Morrow, 1991
Desert Moments, Triskell Press, 1991 (Collection, in Triskell Tales)
Author’s Choice Monthly 22: Hedgework and Guessery. Pulphouse Publishing, 1991
From a Whisper to a Scream, Berkley Books, 1992 (as by Samuel M. Key)
Spiritwalk, Tor Books, 1992 (Collection)
Into the Green, Tor Books, 1993
Dreams Underfoot, Tor Books, 1993 (Collection, included in The Newford Stories)
Brian Froud’s Faerielands: The Wild Wood, Bantam Spectra, 1994
Memory and Dream, Tor Books, 1994
I’ll Be Watching You, Jove, 1994 (as by Samuel M. Key)
Jack of Kinrowan: A Novel of Urban Faerie, Tor Books, 1995 (Omnibus of Jack, the Giant Killer and Drink Down the Moon)
The Ivory and the Horn, Tor Books, 1995 (Collection, included in The Newford Stories)
Trader, Tor Books, 1997
Someplace to Be Flying, Tor Books, 1998
Moonlight and Vines, Tor Books, 1999 (Collection, included in The Newford Stories)
The Newford Stories, Science Fiction Book Club, 1999 (Omnibus of Dreams Underfoot, The Ivory and the Horn, and Moonlight and Vines)
Forests of the Heart, Tor Books, 2000
Triskell Tales: Twenty-Two Years of Chapbooks, Subterranean Press, 2000 (Collection)
The Road to Lisdoonvarna, Subterranean Press, 2001
The Onion Girl, Tor Books, 2001
Seven Wild Sisters, Subterranean Press, 2002
Tapping the Dream Tree, Subterranean Press, 2002 (Collection)
Waifs and Strays, Viking, 2002 (Collection)
Medicine Road, Subterranean Press, 2003
Spirits in the Wires, Tor Books, 2003
A Handful of Coppers, Subterranean Press, 2003 (Collection)
The Blue Girl, Viking Books, 2004
Quicksilver & Shadow, Subterranean Press, 2004 (Collection)
The Hour Before Dawn, Subterranean Press, 2005 (Collection, in Muse and Reverie)
Widdershins, Tor Books, 2006
Triskell Tales 2, Subterranean Press, 2006 (Collection)
Little (Grrl) Lost, Viking Books, 2007
Promises to Keep, Subterranean Press, 2007
Dingo, Viking Books, 2008
What the Mouse Found, Subterranean Press, 2008 (Collection)
Woods & Water Wild, Subterranean Press, 2008 (Collection)
Eyes Like Leaves, Subterranean Press, 2009
The Mystery of Grace, Tor Books, 2009
Muse and Reverie, Tor Books, 2009 (Collection)
The Painted Boy, Viking Books, 2010
The Very Best of Charles de Lint, Tachyon, 2010 (Collection)
Wildings 1: Under My Skin, Razorbill Canada, 2012
The Cats of  Tanglewood Forest, Little, Brown, 2013
Wildings 2: Over My Head, Razorbill Canada, 2013
Jodi and the Witch of Bodbury, Triskell Press, 2014
Wildings 3: Out of This World, Razorbill Canada, 2014
Newford Stories: Crow Girls, Triskell Press, 2015 (Collection)
The Wind in His Heart, Triskell Press, 2017
Juniper Wiles, Triskell Press, 2021